Five Books Every High School Student Must Read This Summer

Five Books Every High School Student Must Read This Summer

The summer vacation is a great time to catch up on some reading for busy high school students who are otherwise pressed for time, what with crucial examinations and college applications. Here are five newly released books handpicked for every kind of young adult: 

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

From the multiple award-winning author of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe comes this profoundly moving story about high school senior Sal and his journey of self discovery. Encompassing themes of love, social responsibility, death and redemption, this book will have you smiling in amusement as you ponder the larger universal questions of belonging.

 

Unearthly Things by Michelle Gagnon 

Touted as a modern day retelling of Charlotte Bronte’s classic Jane Eyre, this novel follows the story of Janie Mason, a surfer girl from Hawaii who is forced to move to San Francisco and build a new life with the elite Rochester family. Releasing April 2017, Unearthly Things is e must-read for fans of both Bronte and Gagnon, who is the bestselling author of several thrillers for both teens and adults. 

Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer

Featuring a series of epistolary exchanges between bereaved Juliet Young and notorious Declan Murphy,, Letters to the Lost explores how pain and suffering can shift and shape personal identity. This story about finding friendship in the most unlikeliest of circumstances will convince you that the world is a less lonelier place than it so often seems. And even in it’s most dismal phases, life can still be meaningful. Releasing April 4 2017, this book has garnered several five star early reviews on Goodreads. 

Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott 

Acclaimed author Victoria Scott writes on Goodreads, “I’ve always liked the idea of a land mine of a human being. Someone who could explode at any moment, but absolutely no one would suspect it.” This is the thought behind Domino, the protagonist of Scott’s latest psychological thriller Violet Grenade, set to release in May 2017. This edgy story of a runaway with dissociative identity disorder will draw you right into its dark, intense world and leave you all stirred up and shaken. A must read for fans of thriller novels. 

Cold Summer by Gwen Cole 

Another May 2017 release, Cold Summer is the story of nineteen year old Kale Jackson who has spent years trying to control his ability to arbitrarily time travel back to World War II. Exploring the complexities of family relationships, friendship, and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, this novel is highly anticipated for its intriguing plot and the fresh voice of debut novelist Gwen Cole. The book has garnered much appreciation from beta readers on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *